Becoming a constant

I remember the times when all was laughter and hopeful optimism.  It seemed then that nothing was impossible.  Here I am now, facing the giant of organic chemistry, my fearless hope put to the test.  This journey of being a pilgrim is so interesting, so unexpected.  I feel like I am in a constant chemical reaction, a constant state of ebb and flow and becoming.  Coming and going of electrons, bonds being broken only to be reformed, new and improved.  Then rearranged.  Nothing is constant in this process of transformation.  On some days, it seems as if life is this clearly defined, linear thing that then gives way, on other days, to a fluid, circular, interdimensional process of conversion.

What does it mean to be converted?  In certain circles, conversion is an event, but I think it is actually more like a daily process of the old nature realizing that it is so dead, and must therefore give way to a new, glorious nature that is recreated in the image of God.  What unfathomable truth to a calcitrant mind.  This is my constant, this is the product being created.  The constancy of Jesus Christ in me, He is my hope of glory, He is the author and the perfector of my faith.  He is the one who holds everything together, sustaining it all so perfectly.  I need not despair, though from my perspective it feels as if all is being undone, He is the master Chemist, and all is created, recreated, sustained, held together, reborn, renewed, loved, known, and real in Him. 

wow.

Leave a comment